Throwback to the IPL 2019 Final: A 1-Run Win for the Mumbai Indians

IPL 2019 final

The arch-rivals, Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings, faced each other once again in an IPL final. It was the year 2019, MI were eyeing their 5th title, and CSK were hoping for their 4th IPL trophy. The two teams locked horns in an IPL final for the first time in 2010. Chennai Super Kings emerged victorious on that occasion. Mumbai Indians took their revenge by defeating them in the IPL 2013 final. It was the third time that both the teams were up against each other in the final of the Indian Premier League.

Keep reading to discover the thrilling details of a breathtaking T20 game.


Playing XIs


Here are the playing XIs of both teams for the final:


Mumbai Indians Playing XI


  1. Rohit Sharma
  2. Quinton de Kock
  3. Suryakumar Yadav
  4. Ishan Kishan
  5. Krunal Pandya
  6. Hardik Pandya
  7. Kieron Pollard
  8. Rahul Chahar
  9. Mitchell McClenaghan
  10. Jasprit Bumrah
  11. Lasith Malinga


Chennai Super Kings Playing XI


  1. Faf du Plessis
  2. Shane Watson
  3. Suresh Raina
  4. Ambati Rayudu
  5. MS Dhoni
  6. Dwayne Bravo
  7. Ravindra Jadeja
  8. Harbhajan Singh
  9. Deepak Chahar
  10. Shardul Thakur
  11. Imran Tahir


1st Innings Summary


Mumbai Indians’ captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to bat first. The Hitman got himself going by pulling Shardul Thakur for a 6 in the second over. His opening partner Quinton de Kock was looking in ominous touch as he took Deepak Chahar for 3 sixes in the third over of the innings. The first six went over Deep mid-wicket, while the other two went over covers and wide long off. The southpaw hit the 4th maximum of his innings in the 5th over, but Shardul Thakur got him out on the next delivery. He scored 27 off 17 balls, and Mumbai Indians were 45 for 1 after 4.4 overs.

Deepak Chahar made a comeback in the next over by picking up the important wicket of Rohit Sharma. After a couple of wickets falling in quick succession, Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan batted for 7 overs together, but they could only add 38 runs. The partnership was broken as Imran Tahir got SKY out. Krunal Pandya followed him in the next over, and Ishan Kishan was also dismissed in the 15th over. Mumbai Indians were struggling for momentum at 101 for 5 after 14.4 overs.

Kieron Pollard teed off without wasting any time and played a stupendous knock of 41 runs in just 25 deliveries. His innings included 3 fours and 3 massive sixes. He finished the innings by hitting DJ Bravo for two consecutive boundaries, and CSK were asked to chase down 150 runs in 20 overs. Pollard’s strike rate was 164 when the combined strike rate of the other Mumbai Indians’ batsmen was just 106. Deepak Chahar bowled a brilliant spell of 3 for 26 and 4 overs. Imran Tahir and Shardul Thakur grabbed 2 wickets each.


2nd Innings Summary


In response, Faf du Plessis came out with all guns blazing. He opened his account by playing a delightful covered drive off Mitchell McCleneghan in the first over of the innings. He then hit Krunal Pandya for two fours and a six on consecutive deliveries in the 4th over. It seemed that he was taking the game away from the Mumbai Indians, but the left-arm spinner got the last laugh as Faf was stumped on the final delivery of that over. He scored 26 runs in just 13 balls with the help of 3 fours and a six.

His opening partner Shane Watson was struggling at the other end. He needed to make a move as the 14 balls he faced brought only 9 runs. Lasith Malinga came into the bowl during the final over of the powerplay, and Watson took him on for a couple of boundaries and a maximum. In the next over, he whacked a powerful straight drive to get another boundary, and suddenly, he was 29 off 25.

CSK were in a commanding position as they needed 80 of 65. But the quick wickets of Suresh Raina and Ambatii Rayudu shifted the momentum toward Mumbai. MS Dhoni was then run out courtesy of a stunning throw by Ishan Kishan, and now all the pressure was back on the Chennai Super Kings. Shane Watson brought up his 44-Ball half-century, and Dwayne Bravo offered him some support, but he was also out for 15. When Lasith Malinga came into the bowl in the 16th over of the innings, the equation was 62 of 30. The first four balls of that over went for 15, and CSK could dream again.

With 37 runs required of the last 17 balls, it looked tough for the chasing side. But Shane Watson turned the tables in the next 3 deliveries by punishing Krunal Pandya for 3 gigantic sixes. It seemed that Watson had snatched victory from Mumbai’s hands, but Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga executed their yorkers with great effect in the last two overs. Shane Watson was batting with a bleeding knee, and he was quite close to getting his side across the line. However, he got run out on the third last delivery of the final. CSK required 2 runs of the final ball, but Malinga bowled a brilliant slower ball to get Shardul Thakur plumb in front of the stumps.

He defended 9 runs off the final over to make Mumbai Indians the five-time IPL Champions. Shane Watson‘s spirited knock of 80 runs on 59 deliveries went in vain. Jasprit Bumrah and Rahul Chahar were the two heroes with the ball, conceding only 14 runs each in their quota of 4 overs. The former got two wickets, while the latter picked one. It was MI’s second IPL final victory, where they won on the last ball of the match by just 1 run.

 IPL 2019 Champions

Image Source:




Here’s the scorecard of the IPL 2009 final:


Mumbai Indians Innings


BatsmanRunsBallsStrike Rate4s6s
Quinton de Kock †2917170.5804
Rohit Sharma (c)1514107.1411
Suryakumar Yadav151788.2310
Ishan Kishan232688.4630
Krunal Pandya7710000
Kieron Pollard412516433
Hardik Pandya161016011
Rahul Chahar02000
Mitchell McClenaghan02000
Jasprit Bumrah00-00


BowlerOversRunsWicketsEconomy Rate
Mitchell McClenaghan42406
Krunal Pandya339113
Lasith Malinga449112.25
Jasprit Bumrah41423.5
Rahul Chahar41413.5
Hardik Pandya1303


Chennai Super Kings Innings


BatsmanRunsBallsStrike Rate4s6s
Faf du Plessis261320031
Shane Watson8059135.5984
Suresh Raina81457.1400
Ambati Rayudu142500
MS Dhoni (c)†282500
Dwayne Bravo151510001
Ravindra Jadeja5510000
Shardul Thakur2210000


BowlerOversRunsWicketsEconomy Rate
Deepak Chahar42636.5
Shardul Thakur43729.25
Harbhajan Singh42706.75
Dwayne Bravo32408
Imran Tahir32327.66
Ravindra Jadeja21206

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Waitlist

This will close in 1000 seconds



Hello Sportiqo Fan!

Click below to connect with Customer Support

× Live Chat