How many players have been suspended from the Indian Premier League (IPL)?

Indian Premier League (IPL) is the greatest T20 League in the world due to the presence of top-quality T20 players and the financial aspect involved with IPL. Every cricketer dreams of getting selected to play in IPL and play with some of the superstars of cricket. It’s a great learning curve for youngsters to rub shoulders with the greats of this game.

 IPL trophy
Image from NDTV

However, there have been some instances where players have broken the rules of IPL and had to face heavy punishment for it. Here in this article, we will discuss the details of players who have been suspended from the IPL.

List of players suspended from playing an IPL season


Harbhajan Singh  IPL 2008 Verbal spat with Sreesanth 
Ravindra Jadeja  IPL 2010 Involved in negotiating with other IPL franchises 
Mohammad Asif  IPL 2009 Consumed prohibited drug
Luke Pomersbach  IPL 2012 Charges of assault 
David Warner IPL 2018 Ball-tampering scandal 
Steven Smith  IPL 2018 Ball-tampering Scandal 
Praveen Tambe IPL 2020 Participated in foreign leagues 
Rasikh Salam IPL 2020 & IPL 2021 Faulty birth certificate 


  • Ravindra Jadeja


Jadeja playing a shot
image from Sportskeeda


Ravindra Jadeja was part of the Rajasthan Royals team in the 2008 and 2009 seasons of the Indian Premier League. But the Indian all-rounder soon got a setback when he was banned from playing in the IPL 2010 season. 

Jadeja was reportedly in talks with the officials of other IPL franchises and negotiated for a higher salary despite being an active Rajasthan Royals player. However, Ravindra Jadeja made a comeback in IPL 2011, representing Kochi Tuskers Kerala.

  • Harbhajan Singh 


Harbhajan Singh celebrating after wicket
Image from Zeenews

The 2008 season was the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League. However, the T20 WC 2007 team members Harbhajan Singh and Sreesanth were involved in a controversial incident. Harbhajan Singh slapped Sreesanth after an IPL match.

The Indian off-spinner also faced a heavy punishment for it. Harbhajan Singh was suspended for the remaining season of IPL 2008. He had to miss 11 games for Mumbai Indians in the 2008 season of the IPL.


Also read: Details of IPL team owners

  • David Warner

David Warner celebrating after century
Image from Indian Express

 Australian opener David Warner is one of the greatest players in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Warner has been the stalwart for Sunrisers Hyderabad over the years. He has an average of 42 and a strike rate of 141 in the IPL, which is a testimonial to his legacy in IPL.

However, David Warner faced a massive shock when he was banned from playing in the 2018 season of the Indian Premier League after he accepted his role in the ball-tampering scandal in the test series against South Africa.

The Cricket Australia board banned Warner from playing international cricket for one year. However, David Warner made a brilliant comeback in the 2019 season of IPL and ended as the top scorer of IPL 2019.

    . Steven Smith 


Steven Smith showing a thumbs up to crowd
Image from Scroll. in

 Smith is another big name who was suspended from playing a season in the Indian Premier League. Steven Smith is one of the greatest test batsmen of this generation who also has a decent IPL career.

The Australian batsman was banned from playing in the IPL 2018 season because of being involved in a ball-tampering scandal in the test series against South Africa. Smith was part of the Rajasthan Royals at that time. Cricket Australia, too handed a one-year ban to Steven Smith.

  • Luke Pomersbach

 Luke Pomersbach playing a shot
Image from Indian Express

Luke Pomersbach is an Australian batsman who represented Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in IPL 2012. Pomersbach also played for Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2008 and 2009. The left-handed batsman scored 302 runs in 17 matches at a strike rate of 122 in the IPL.

However, in 2012, Luke was arrested by Delhi police on the charges of molestation and assault on a woman. A US woman filed a case against Pomersbach for physically assaulting her in a hotel room. Luke Pomersbach was detained by police and banned by the IPL for that season.  He was released on bail but had to surrender his passport.

  • Mohammad Asif

 Mohammad Asif had a natural talent to swing the ball even in Asian conditions. Asif was one of the biggest buys in the 2008 season of the Indian Premier League. He was paired with McGrath in the bowling attack of Delhi Daredevils. 

But the journey of Mohammad Asif in IPL came to an end after the prohibited drug Nandrolone was found in his urine sample collected previously between Delhi and Rajasthan in Mumbai. Asif was suspended from playing in the 2009 season of IPL. Later after the bomb attack on Mumbai, Pakistan players weren’t allowed to participate in IPL.



Several big names like Harbhajan Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, and David Warner have been suspended from playing an IPL season due to breaking the rules of the Indian Premier League. IPL’s governing body is very strict with rules and wants all cricketers to adhere to them. Youngsters should definitely avoid breaking these rules in order to avoid suspension.




Q1) When was the first season of IPL played?

Ans1) The First season of IPL was played in 2008.


Q2) Who is the leading wicket-taker in the history of the IPL?

Ans) Dwayne Bravo is the top wicket-taker in IPL.


Q3) Which team has won the IPL title the most number of times?

Ans) Mumbai Indians have won IPL titles the most number of times (5).


Q4) Who is the leading run-scorer in the history of the IPL?

Ans)  Virat Kohli is the top run scorer in the history of the Indian Premier League.




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Waitlist

This will close in 1000 seconds



Hello Sportiqo Fan!

Click below to connect with Customer Support

× Live Chat