How Many Overseas Players Are Allowed in T20 Blast?

Overseas Players in T20 Blast

England’s T20 Blast will have 18 teams in the competition. All teams will fight each other to get the title. The teams have signed several superstar players from different countries for the season. But the question here is how many overseas players a county can field in a Blast game? Let’s get into this blog to find the answer.

Maximum Number of Overseas Players Allowed In A Blast Game

A maximum of two foreign players can feature for a county in a T20 Blast match. There’s no restriction on the minimum number of overseas players. A team can go with all 11 local players in a match. They can also go with one or two foreign players in the playing XI.

Why Are Only 2 Overseas Players Allowed?

In the top cricket leagues like the Indian Premier League and the Pakistan Super League, a team can play with 4 overseas players in a match. Some leagues even allow 5 International players. A new league, named DP World ILT20 League, was launched earlier this year. This tournament allowed as many as 9 foreign players in a team.

Then, why does the T20 Blast only allow 2 overseas players per side? There are a couple of reasons for that. Firstly, the number of teams in this competition is 18, which is significantly more than in any other league. If 4 foreign players were allowed per side, more than 72 International players must be present in the league.

This number is quite ambitious for the Blast competition. Secondly, it’s more of a domestic tournament than a franchise league. So, the prime purpose of this event is to give chances to the local players. That’s why we often see only one or even no overseas cricketer being part of a county side in a match.

Top Overseas Signings for T20 Blast 2023

Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shadab Khan are the two top players from Pakistan to have signed for this year’s Blast competition. Glenn Maxwell and Chris Lynn from Australia will also be a part of the league. From New Zealand, Mitchell Santner, Daryl Mitchell, and Michael Bracewell have been roped in. Sunil Narine, Paul Stirling, and David Wiese are the other notable names.

Full List of All the Overseas Players for T20 Blast 2023

Let’s take a look at the signings of all the teams for this year’s Vitality Blast:

1. Derbyshire

Suranga Lakmal
Haider Ali

2. Durham

David Bedingham
Tristan Stubbs
Matthew Kuhnemann

3. Essex

Simon Harmer
Daniel Sams

4. Glamorgan

Colin Ingram
Michael Neser

5. Gloucestershire

Zafar Gohar

6. Hampshire

Kyle Abbott
Mohammad Abbas
Ben McDermott
Nathan Ellis

7. Kent

George Linde
Kane Richardson

8. Lancashire

Dane Vilas
Colin de Grandhomme
Daryl Mitchell

9. Leicestershire

Wiaan Mulder
Peter Handscomb

10. Middlesex

Pieter Malan

11. Northamptonshire

Chris Lynn
Sam Whiteman
Andre Tye
Lance Morris

12. Nottinghamshire

Dane Paterson
Colin Munro
Shaheen Shah Afridi

13. Somerset

Peter Siddle, Matt Henry

14. Surrey

Sean Abbott
Sunil Narine

15. Sussex

Shadab Khan
Nathan McAndrew

16. Warwickshire

Hasan Ali
Glenn Maxwell
Paul Stirling

17. Worcestershire

Michael Bracewell
Mitchell Santner

18. Yorkshire

Shan Masood
David Wiese

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Waitlist

This will close in 1000 seconds



Hello Sportiqo Fan!

Click below to connect with Customer Support

× Live Chat