5 Lowest Team Scores in the History of IPL

The Indian Premier League is one of the most popular cricket leagues in the world. There have been a lot of instances wherein Batsmen have created low scores for their teams, and bowlers have had a bad economy, but there have been a few matches wherein the teams have scored so low that they qualify to be on the list of having the lowest scores in the History of IPL

IPL has had a history of many highs and lows. In this article, we are looking at matches wherein the IPL Teams have made a low score either while chasing or batting first in the innings which gave the other team a simple and easy win. 

1. Royal Challengers Bangalore 


This team has an innovative record of having the highest as well as the lowest score in the history of the IPL tournament. Their lowest score ever created in the tournament is 49 runs which came against the franchise Kolkata Knight Riders on 23rd April 2017. The game was held in Eden Gardens, Kolkata. RCB won the toss and chose to field, KKR made a low score of 131 runs, but RCB decided to defeat them by making a lower score. 

The team together managed to make only 49 runs making Kedar Jadhav the highest run scorer in that match with 9 runs. KKR managed to get RCB out within 9.3 overs and gained 2 points to move up in the table. 

KKR celebrating wickets against RCB
Image from Hindustan Times

2. Rajasthan Royals 


The Royals made their lowest score of 58 runs against the team Royal Challengers Bangalore in the year 2009. After winning the first IPL Title in 2008, Rajasthan Royals played their first match in 2009 (2nd season of IPL) against RCB. The match was held in Cape Town, South Africa. RCB won the toss and chose to bat, the team made 133 runs and got Rajasthan Royals within 15.1 overs. Rahul Dravid (current Team India head coach) became the Player of the match for RCB with 66 runs. 

 RCB winning against Rajasthan Royals
Image from Google

3. Delhi Daredevils 


Delhi Capitals now create mammoths when it comes to making scores, back then as Delhi Daredevils had many low-scoring matches. Their lowest score of 66 came against the franchise of Mumbai Indians in 2017. On their home ground of Delhi, they decided to field first and invited Mumbai Indians to bat. Rohit Sharma let the team make 212 runs and managed to bowl Delhi out within 13.4 overs. Both Harbhajan Singh and Karn Sharma managed to get a 3-wicket haul. 

MI in action against DD
Image from NDTV

4 . Delhi Daredevils and Kolkata Knight Riders 


The Delhi Daredevils team seems to have had an unsatisfactory season in 2017. After their lowest score of 66, the team managed to get their second-lowest score of 67 runs. This time the score came against Kings XI Punjab, on the grounds of Mohali. KXIP won the toss and got Delhi Daredevils out within 17.1 overs. KXIP achieved the target within 7.5 overs and moved up the table with 2 points. Sandeep Sharma managed to get a 4-wicket haul for KXIP and was awarded the Player of the Match. 

KXIP winning against DD
Image from IndianExpress

Kolkata Knight Riders also managed to create their lowest score of 67 runs against Mumbai Indians in the first season of the Indian Premier League in 2008. Mumbai Indians won the toss and invited KKR to bat first on their home ground of Wankhede. Kolkata managed to put only 67 runs on the board and got out within 15.2 overs. Mumbai managed to make the score within the power-play in 5.3 overs, wherein the Sri Lankan opener- batsman Sanath Jayasuriya made 48 runs in just 17 balls. 

KKR after batting against MI
Image from HindustanTimes



5. Royal Challengers Bangalore 


RCB is back on the list with their second-lowest score of 68 runs. This score came against the team Sunrisers Hyderabad in Brabourne stadium, Mumbai in the previously held 15th season of the Indian Premier League. SRH invited RCB to bat first and got them out for 68 runs in mere 16.1 overs. They managed to chase the score in 8 overs with Abhishek Sharma scoring 47 runs of the team’s score of 72 runs. 

SRH celebrating falling wickets of RCB
Image From HindustanTimes




Despite the lowest-ever scores in the tournament, the teams have always been fan favorites and the best contenders to play in the playoffs. Even though they have given some loose scoring matches, they have also provided some thrilling knockouts and innings that have had an impact on the minds of the fans. We will look forward to their gain and strategies in the upcoming 16th season of the Indian Premier league.




Q1. When is the IPL Auction for the 16th season of IPL? 

Ans – The IPL Auction for the 16th edition of IPL is to be held on 23rd December 2022 in Kochi, Kerala. 


Q2. Who was awarded the man of the match in DD vs MI, 2017? 

Ans – Lendl Simons won the Player of the match where DD managed to make only 66 runs. 


Q3. Who was awarded the man of the match in RCB vs SRH, 2022 held in Brabourne? 

Ans – Marco Jansen won the Player of the match award for taking 3 wickets and giving away 25 runs. 


Q4. Which team has the record of scoring the lowest-ever score in the IPL? 

Ans – Royal Challengers Bangalore has the record of scoring the lowest-ever score in IPL. 



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Waitlist

This will close in 1000 seconds



Hello Sportiqo Fan!

Click below to connect with Customer Support

× Live Chat