IPL 2024 to Kick Off on March 22 Despite Election; Here’s The List Of All The Teams And Their Captains


The Indian Premier League (IPL) gears up for its 17th edition, set to start on March 22. IPL chairman Arun Dhumal has confirmed that the highly anticipated tournament will run until May 26, amid the concurrent 2024 Lok Sabha Polls.

In an exciting announcement, Dhumal revealed that the IPL schedule will be released in phases due to the upcoming general elections. Initially, only the fixtures for the first 15 days will be disclosed, with the remaining matches to follow after the election dates are announced in early March.

“We are looking at a March 22 start for the tournament. We are working closely with the government agencies and we will first release the initial schedule. The entire tournament will be held in India,” said Dhumal

On asking question about the match venues to be announced overseas Dhumal said, “it won’t happen overseas. That is why we are waiting for Lok Sabha election dates, so that we can plan the venues accordingly.”

List Of Teams And Their Captains Participating in the IPL 2024

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) : MS Dhoni
Gujarat Titans (GT) : Shubman Gill
Mumbai Indians (MI) : Hardik Pandya
Delhi Capitals (DC) : David Warner
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) : Shreyas Iyer
Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) : KL Rahul
Punjab Kings (PK) : Shikhar Dhawan
Rajasthan Royals (RR) : Sanju Samson
Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) : Faf Du Plassis
Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) : Aiden Markram

As tradition dictates, the IPL will open with a showdown between last year’s finalists, the Chennai Super Kings and the Gujarat Titans, promising an electrifying start to what is sure to be a thrilling season of cricket frenzy.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Waitlist

This will close in 1000 seconds



Hello Sportiqo Fan!

Click below to connect with Customer Support

× Live Chat